Posted by: retailboy | October 20, 2010

Keep Your Hair Whippin To Yourself

YES SHE IS 9 YEARS OLD

I’m not gonna lie, the video is wicked (funded by her parents most probably?), the song…not really, I’ve heard it somewhere before. But that’s besides the point. She is 9 years old! Am I the only one who finds this very very very disturbing? I know she’s artistic but don’t you think she’s a little too young to be in the business, Do we really need another Michael Jackson? I don’t think so. Just give her her childhood. Let her do what normal 9 yr olds do….go to school and play with other kids. Don’t let her grow up fast, the world’s moving backwards as it is and we would like to protect the kids from this. GAH! Secondly I would not put a weave or whatever she had on her hair on my 9 yr old, not that I have one but shes a kid, she doesn’t need that! This might be an “artistic output” for her but she can do it in school, in a play or something some school program….NOT ON VEVO. Fuck is this where parenthood has turned into just let the kids do what they want? Damn 9 year olds pressured to wear make up…Thats just wrong. Let them be kids. This is just sad. I am not impressed with Jada and Will. Thumbs down guys….tsk tsk tsk, you guys are in my bad books now. What a let down.


Responses

  1. I agree wholeheartily. I finally took the time to watch this video, after my partner told me about it. I guess people at his work are obsessed with it. On top of what you said, I feel like these videos puts even more media strain on an age group that hasn’t had a chance to develop. I bet make-up and hair companies just have dollar signs popping into their eyes when videos like this go out. What are we teaching our kids? That consumerism is the way to happiness? That media dictates what’s right and wrong? I fear we’re creating a media-religion for kids that will harm any chance of them having them enjoy the little things in life. Sad days.

    If you have a chance, I would recommend checking out “Fun with Dick”. Thanks, and keep posting! http://neilmoser.wordpress.com


Leave a comment

Categories